My Homemade Trail Mix

Posted: January 11, 2012 in Nutrition

I think it’s important to have something you can reliably snack on if you’re hit with some hunger in between your planned meals.  More importantly, you don’t want to eat those Hostess Cupcakes teasing you in the cupboard, nor do you want to cook something.  You also want something that you don’t finish after your first few bites.  This is why I always have a bowl of trail mix laying around.  Since I am a bit of a picky eater, I’ve taken the things I like from other trail mixes, bought them separately, and mixed them up.

You can do it too!  Stores like Fresh Market (this is where I go), Whole Foods, and several others have a nice selection of these types of finger foods.  My current mix is composed of wasabi peas, cashews, and rice crackers.   This is not a groundbreaking combination, but this is my response to the Archer Farms Zen Party (see your local Super Target) which had almonds and a couple other things I don’t personally care for.

So in lieu of getting a pre-mixed trail mix where you leave all the “duds” you don’t like at the bottom of the bowl, I implore you to select the things you like and make your own.  There are a myriad of options depending on your particular taste – you can find some recipes for Chex mix-esque recipes in which you can throw them in the oven, etc.  However, I like to keep it simple, so no baking for this guy.

The nice thing about this kind of snack is that nuts are a good source of healthy fats, if you like to include those.  The other components are generally non-simple carbohydrates, so you get a little more well-rounded snack.  If you’ve read my Diet Guide, you’ll know that I’m not necessarily afraid of sugar and you shouldn’t be either.  However, we don’t want that to be a primary food source and I offer this simple little idea to give you an idea on how to have a non-sugary, but rather filling and satisfying snack.  I have a feeling most Western diets don’t need any advice on which sugary foods to eat, anyway.

Leave a Reply

